Needing Direction

I decided to take on a blogging challenge called Zero to Hero through wordpress.com.  Everyday there will be an assignment to complete in regards to my blog.  Today is day 3, which calls for creating a post on “why I decided to start blogging”.  Technically if I had just started out, this would be my first entry.  Since I started this site a couple of years ago, I’m going to improvise slightly on this assignment.  😉

When I first set up jennisnails.wordpress.com, my intentions were to just have a “free website” to house information about my career such as prices, pictures of my work, etc.  Then I realized that I should start posting if I wanted my site to be seen.  That’s where the struggles began…What do I post about?  How often do I post?  Will anyone care about what I post?  What demographic would I want to reel into my world?  As you can see, there is so much to think about when creating a blog!  At first I thought I wanted to be informative and write about nail related issue, such as nail and skin disorders.  Then I would mix in links to articles I’ve read on how to take care of nails/toes/feet/skin.  Although I find this to be incredibly useful information, it just wasn’t exciting for me to write!

All of the above being said, I’m still not any closer to figuring out the answer!  I wanted my blog to be completely nail related, but maybe that’s not the direction I should be going.  Maybe I should mix it up with the thoughts of my mind.  Throw some glitter on top.  Top coat it and hit publish.  Thoughts?

12 thoughts on “Needing Direction

    • Really? Glad I can help! That’s part of my problem too though…how to have a blog primarily on one topic, yet speak on other subjects as well. I don’t want it to look like it doesn’t fit. Do you have that issue too?

      • Actually, mine will fit right in… At least most of the time. My problem is getting the logistics of the business up and running first. I am starting a life coaching practice. I have a nephew who is in marketing. I plan to bounce some things off him.

        I was a cosmetologist, many years ago. I can see how “tips and tricks” and that sort of thing would work well on your page.

      • Life coaching sounds like it’s right up your alley, by the name of your blog. I would definitely get some ideas from your nephew, but I think you’ll do just fine sliding it in! Funny that you were “in the biz” long time ago. I love it!!!

  1. Jenni, I think you should follow your heart! I like reading about nails, etc, but I would find it more exciting if you put more of your “own thoughts and heart” into it! Maybe make it a little more relatable! This is really cool and I enjoy following you!

  2. I just discovered your blog and this it is very interesting i think you blog has the perfect title to mix it up a bit that’s where the Nonsense comes in. Hope this helps and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

